The Suggestion Box: British Columbia

June 1, 2010 at 1:42 pm 5 comments

I’m still working on a page detailing the angle I’m planning to chip at for my thesis, but for now, I thought I’d post my first Suggestion Box. I’m planning on posting on of these for each province. Since I hit British Columbia first, and I arrive in just 8 days, BC is up first.

I’ve read my guidebooks, but in general, guidebooks are written by people who earn salaries by traveling and probably have expense budgets and the like. My budget is considerably less padded. So for people who live in BC, or visitors to BC that have found gems, drop your suggestions here. What should I see, do, eat, photograph, etc?

I’ll be visiting Vancouver, Victoria, and the Kelowna/Okanagan area on this trip, but feel free to leave suggestions for northern BC as well, if you have them. It’s never too early to start thinking about future trips.

Entry filed under: British Columbia, Preparations, Suggestion Boxes.

10 Days to Go Project Information Posted

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. starsinthecity  |  June 1, 2010 at 8:31 pm

    I think you need to eat a Japadog now that the lines aren’t several hours long!

    Reply
  • 2. melaniehoyt  |  June 5, 2010 at 9:09 pm

    C, you might be right. If they can make me one without, you know, the hot dog part.

    Reply
  • 3. Andrea  |  June 8, 2010 at 9:48 am

    It’s not exactly a surprise location but I loved going to Butchart Gardens outside Victoria when I was there a few springs ago. It was just spectacularly beautiful.
    http://www.butchartgardens.com/index.php?option=com_frontpage&Itemid=1

    Reply
  • 4. melaniehoyt  |  June 8, 2010 at 6:53 pm

    I’m so torn about Butchart Gardens! The admission price tag has definitely scared me off a bit, but I would still love to see it. But as of right now, it’s going to be raining when I’m in Victoria on Thurs, so I don’t think I’ll go unless it clears up. I’ll have to save it for another trip sometime.

    Reply
  • 5. heather  |  June 8, 2010 at 9:34 pm

    If you have time go up to Tofino to Pacific Rim National Park.It’s amazing up there.Also depending which way you are taking to get Alberta,the Kooteney Lake Ferry is free and fun and it will take you by Ainsworth Hot Springs and Nelson.Im from Trail and love visiting there.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About

A serial road tripper chronicles her adventures.

Categories

Posting History

June 2010
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

