Vancouver, Part 1

June 10, 2010 at 2:50 pm Leave a comment

The last time in Vancouver, it looked quite different. Without all of the turquoise Olympic banners and red-and-white mayhem in the streets, I barely recognized the city when I arrived downtown last night. It wasn’t until I’d already parked my car and walked out of the parking garage that I realized I had parked right across the street from The Bay, where I stood in line many times during the Olympics, waiting to get inside the Olympic Superstore.

Last night was just a quick trip downtown for dinner with a friend. Fortunately, she’s a sushi fan and there was a new place near her work that she had been wanting to try, so I had my first taste of west coast sushi for the trip. I’m hopeful that it will not be my last! Last Saturday, my mom took me to my favourite sushi restaurant in Chicago for my birthday. Cost of my half of the four maki that we split, a house salad, and half of a green tea ice cream: something like $30. Last night, in downtown Vancouver, cost for a special that included 5 sushi, 2 sashimi, 3 pieces of maki, rice, salad, miso soup, green tea, and fruit: $6.95.

If only I didn’t hate rain so much, I think I would love living here! I’m excited to get back and spend the weekend discovering some new corners of the area.

First, though, I’m en route to Victoria! I’m writing this from the ferry and plan to post it sometime this afternoon. During this whole trip, I’m conquering my fear of boats, one ferry at a time. This is actually my first time on a car ferry, so driving my car onto the skinny lanes on the boat was a little terrifying, but I’m coping well so far. The ferry is actually so large that it barely feels like we’re moving. The ship houses various lounges, a café, a restaurant, a gift shop, plenty of passenger seating, and an area outside that I have not explored yet, all on three passenger decks.

And speaking of exploring, I’m going to head upstairs and see what else there is to see. I plan to check in again tonight with tales of today’s Victoria adventures.

Entry filed under: British Columbia, Vancouver.

American Airlines Hostel Environment

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About

A serial road tripper chronicles her adventures.

Categories

Posting History

June 2010
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

