Vancouver Again

June 12, 2010 at 9:17 pm 1 comment

This road trip marks my fourth trip to Vancouver, and I’m still so captivated by this city. My guidebook touts it as the most picturesque city in North America, and it’s hard for me to disagree. With a canvas of mountains to the north, no matter where you look, a downtown peninsula that juts out into seawater, and one of the world’s largest urban parks, Vancouver is indeed picture-perfect.

I’ve also been unbelievably lucky with weather on all of my visits, so I always say that I can’t move here, just visit, because I’ve never had to deal with multiple days of rain here. I hate rain.

When I left Victoria, I drove up the Trans-Can to Nanaimo, so I took the ferry from Nanaimo to Vancouver, which dropped me off at Horseshoe Bay, located in West Vancouver, on the “north shore” of the city. I’d never been to that part of town, so after consulting my guidebooks, I programmed the GPS for Lighthouse Park. Dear Mom: Thank you very much for the GPS for my birthday. Without it, I would absolutely never have found Lighthouse Park among all of West Vancouver’s twisted, mountainous residential areas. Love, Mel.

Fortunately, my Garmin did not fail me and I arrived in Lighthouse Park expecting, you know, a lighthouse. Instead, I got a gravel parking area and a trail map posted at the gate. Um, trails? I don’t really…hike. But at least I was wearing gym shoes, so off I went, armed with a trail map. It was just a bit of a walk to the lighthouse viewing area (there’s no public access to the lighthouse itself), but when I arrived at the viewing area, all I saw was a giant boulder. Possibly two giant boulders. It took a few minutes before I realized that I had to climb a crude “staircase” chiseled into the boulder in order to see the lighthouse. I almost broke my ankle, but it was worth it. I climbed around on the rocks, trying to get the best shots, and I think I got some good ones. After the lighthouse viewing, I went to another area where the city was visible, but it was a bit too far to get great shots.

Next on my agenda was Lynn Canyon Park. I’d wanted to go to the Capilano Suspension Bridge and park, but my guidebook tipped me off that Capilano is a privately-owned park that charges $25 for admission. I hate tourist traps. Instead, I opted for Lynn Canyon, which is free, less crowded, and has a suspension bridge that is almost as impressive. I even crossed it, despite my irrational fears of bridges and heights, and while I almost vomited on the way back because some kids were making it sway too much, I think the trek was worth it to take the trail down to the creekside for photos and pretty scenery.

I even had time last night to catch up with some friends that live here, which was good times of course! I had coffee with Raul, then met Aaron and some of his friends downtown later. Apparently, there was a night market going on in Chinatown, but I had to decline a trip to that, since I’d been awake since 4am!

Today, I had a relaxing morning (since no one was sleeping above me in a creaky bunk bed) and then set out this afternoon for the outdoors…along with all of Metro Vancouver, it seemed! I hit Kits Beach first, which was new to me, and loved it, and then crossed the bridge into downtown and spent some time strolling the seawall at Stanley Park. While I was there, I played photographer for 3 different families/tourists…I actually love it when people stop me and ask me to take a photo of them. It’s like my good deeds for the day.

Besides a little headache from the traffic, I also left downtown with a sunburn on my left shoulder only (I guess it happened while sitting in the traffic), but no complaints on such a gorgeous day. Thanks again for another great one, West Coast!

Entry filed under: British Columbia, Vancouver.

Photo Post: Victoria The Suggestion Box: Alberta

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Mom  |  June 13, 2010 at 1:51 pm

    You’re welcome, Mel! Glad that the GPS is coming in handy!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About

A serial road tripper chronicles her adventures.

Categories

Posting History

June 2010
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

