Mile Zero!

April 20, 2011 at 1:22 am Leave a comment

On our final day in St. John’s, I hit another milestone on my trip:

Mel at Mile Zero
Mile Zero! Both ends of the Trans-Canada Highway, the west end in Victoria and the east end in St. John’s, are marked “mile zero.” I didn’t find the sign in Victoria, and in St. John’s, it took some time and effort and asking a random clerk in the City Hall. But it turned out that the sign was just a bit further down the block than we expected, and when we found it, there was much photoshooting, of course. Canada starts right here.

The Girls at Mile Zero
Special thanks to Christina and Jules for reaching Mile Zero with me!

Mel and Mama at Mile Zero
And of course, special thanks to my mama as well! I couldn’t have done this trip without her help.

St. John's Houses
Even though the day was a bit grey (typical for St. John’s, I’m told), we had a nice time wandering around the city. I just can’t get enough of the painted houses!

Newfoundland Tricolour
Cheery red house flying the old unofficial Newfoundland flag. The first time I saw this flag, I thought it was a faded Irish or Italian one, but that last bar really is pink. I did a bit of digging and discovered that this tricolour flag has been around since the late 19th century, though it has never officially represented Newfoundland.

More downtown St. John's
Gower Street, across from the Cathedral downtown, is a particularly picturesque stretch, don’t you think?

Anglican Cathedral of St. John the Baptist
Inside the Anglican Cathedral of St. John the Baptist, downtown St. John’s. We kind of wandered in, and thus began the most awkward cathedral visit ever. I think a couple of altar boys were in training to help tourists, because there appeared to be some sort of supervisor, and the boys kept asking us if we had any questions. We didn’t want to be rude and skedaddle right away, but we really didn’t have a ton of time to spend, so we kind of lingered long enough to be polite, and then thanked them. We were just about out the door, when one of the boys asked me if I’d seen the museum. Since they were watching us the whole time, I was fairly sure that he knew that I hadn’t seen the museum, so I said that I hadn’t, and then off he went, and I felt like I had to follow. He took me to a really tiny room filled with all kinds of historical artifacts, which I’m sure would have been interesting, but our afternoon scheduled included lunch, finding somewhere to buy very cheap sheets, and driving over an hour to get to the ferry. If we missed the ferry, we were stuck in St. John’s for several more days, so again, I lingered a few moments to be polite, and then we beelined out of there. Nice church, though. I do enjoy a good church, so I’m glad we went in.

Lunch was at The Sprout, which I must mention, because it was a delightful little vegetarian place downtown. It’s been way too long for me to remember what I ate, but I think I remember pesto. Usually a safe bet with me. Anyway, if you’re in St. John’s and you like tasty vegetables, I recommend it! I seem to remember it using more actual vegetables than “supposedly tastes like meat” plant proteins, which is the type of vegetarian food I prefer.

Signal Hill
Ah yes, and one more stop before we left downtown: Signal Hill. Unfortunately, the weather had other plans for us. This is the view from the top of Signal Hill. Striking, isn’t it?

Entry filed under: Newfoundland, Photos, St. John's.

Puffins and More! Ferry Tales, Part Deux

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About

A serial road tripper chronicles her adventures.

Categories

Posting History

April 2011
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

