Back at St. Paul’s

June 20, 2011 at 10:07 am 2 comments

I don’t have a lot of time to blog this morning, since our orientation at London Met is in just over an hour, but I had a fantastic day yesterday!

I wasn’t really planning to begin the day at St. Paul’s, but due to a Tube closure on the lines that I would usually take to Notting Hill, I had to go out of my way. By the time I switched lines, I was almost to St. Paul’s, so off I went. Just as I was approaching the churchyard, the 11am bells began and played for half an hour. They were just enough out of tune to sound authentic, and since I don’t have perfect pitch or anything, I thought it was magnificent.

After some photos and some journaling on the steps (sadly I did not spy a bird woman selling seeds for tuppence a bag), I went to the nearest café for a mocha and a pain au chocolat. I had to fend off aggressive pigeons while I snacked on the patio, but even so, I couldn’t have asked for a better Sunday morning.

I then wandered down Cheapside because I spied another church to photograph, and I ended up in Daunt Books, a lovely shop with a huge travel section. I wanted to buy just about everything in it, but I resisted and bought only the books required for class. If I have pounds left at the end of next week, though…

Notting Hill was next, where I got lost and explored Holland Park, too, but that was fine because I escaped the raindrops for a gelato break. Every day should have a gelato break. I finally found Portobello Road, which did have some impressive shopping, but I wasn’t feeling spendy at all. I was a little disappointed that Hugh Grant wasn’t waiting for me at the cupcake shop, or standing in front of a blue door. This was what I expected from Notting Hill…was that unrealistic?

I had plenty of time to shoot the sunset last night on the Thames, as planned, but the sky never really turned orange and/or pink. Disappointing. I did eventually chase a patch of orange down by the South Bank Centre, but it was just a tiny patch. Here’s a teaser from my sunset shoot…I’m frustrated with how slow my laptop has been in dealing with RAW photos today, so this is all I have so far.

Palace of Westminster at sunset

Entry filed under: England, Europe, London, United Kingdom.

Monsooned in London Day 3 Photos!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Christina @ Food.Fitness.Fun.  |  June 20, 2011 at 11:29 am

    Sounds and looks like a delightful day! Sorry about Hugh though, he was having dinner with me, oups.

    Reply
  • 2. Jack Hoyt  |  June 20, 2011 at 11:02 pm

    I am so glad that I am finally on line, so that I can keep up with all your travels.
    Love, Dad

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About

A serial road tripper chronicles her adventures.

Categories

Posting History

June 2011
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

