Sunburned in London & Other Weekend Tales

June 26, 2011 at 3:00 pm Leave a comment

I have to apologize for shirking my blogging responsibilities, but you’d shirk too, if you were lucky enough to get sunburned in London! I didn’t realize that was possible.

Actually, I stopped blogging even before the amazing weather rolled in. I was quite busy last week with class, assignments, and a couple of daytime organized field trips. Then I planned to get back on track on Friday with blogging, but on Friday, I had a fabulous day of culture, museums, coffee, and cupcakes that culminated with a super-cheap ticket to see Chicago in the West End. No time for blogging.

Yesterday, the day began a bit overcast, but I had a lot that I wanted to do, so I packed an umbrella and headed out to South Kensington and Knightsbridge. I visited the Victoria & Albert Museum and walked around the fab shopping district. I think my favourite block was the one that had Christian Louboutin (fancy shoes) 2 doors down from Pierre Hermé (fancy macarons). Yum and yum! I found Harrod’s to be RIDICULOUS, but I was glad that I went and rode the OTT “Egyptian Escalator” while a woman sang arias from the 3rd floor landing. By the time I was done wandering, the overcast skies had turned cheery blue with perfect white clouds, so it was off to Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens for the rest of the afternoon and evening. I’d worn myself out, so I had to have a nap before I went out with the crew. The original plan was karaoke, but both places we tried were a fail, so we just ended up a pub. Still good times, though! I came back earlier than the rest of the group, because I had big plans for this morning.

Due to poor planning, I missed the Borough Market (foodie heaven, apparently), so I was sure to plan better for the Columbia Road Flower Market and the Spitalfields Market. Both only have stalls on Sundays, though both have fun retail in the area all week long. I’ll write more about the markets in detail later, but I had a great time, and I had some terrific coffee! The breakfast coffee at my B&B is quite good, but I was glad that I skipped it today in favour of a Monmouth latte later that was almost as good as San Francisco’s Blue Bottle.

The unfortunate part of today is that I think I’m getting sick. My throat hurts like it hasn’t hurt in years, and I felt worn out. Of course, the throat could only be allergies and the worn-out feeling could just be due to traipsing around in the sun. Just to be safe, I’ve stayed in today, done some homework, had a nap, and will continue to take it easy this evening as I try to decide what’s on the agenda for tomorrow. I can’t believe that I only have 3 days left!

Planning to post some more photos tonight & write in more detail about wherever I left off, so stay tuned!

Entry filed under: England, Europe, London, United Kingdom.

Day 3 Photos! The Brits Have Many Things

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About

A serial road tripper chronicles her adventures.

Categories

Posting History

June 2011
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

